Monday, June 1, 2009

Lost in Translation

Scene: A bed. A man and a woman having a small quarrel.
Man: "What's wrong?"

Woman: "I don't want to say, it's a big thing."

Man (hiding nervousness): "No, it's ok, we should talk about it."

Woman (clearly trying to figure out how to say something hard): "Well, I ..."
(pause)
"It's yours."
(giant pause while man considers logistics of weaseling like there's no tomorrow)

Man: "You're pregnant?!?"

Woman, laughing: "No, why do you think that?"

Man: "Well, when you say 'it's yours' in English, there's an implication of what 'it' is"

Woman: "Of course not!"

(Fade to black)

2 comments:

Chad W said...

Funny!

So, what'd you ACTUALLY do wrong?

Naughty JT said...

She just thought I was hung up on an ex because I kept her photo on my desk. Except it's not an ex, just a friend from college.

Also, I called her by the wrong name in flagrante delicto